Is there a law governing holidays in Pakistan? Yes!

Governed by the Weekly Holidays Act 1942 which provides for persons employed in shops, restaurants and theatres. It declares that a shop will be entirely closed one day in every week and employees except anyone in a confidential or managerial position are entitled by law to one complete day’s holiday, which will be day shop is closed unless employee’s total period of employment is less than six days altogether or he has been allowed some other day completely free. Penalties under Act for Employer are Rs. 25 for a first offence and as much as Rs. 250 for a second offence. Weekly holiday is Sun. with effect from 15th Mar. 1997.
Public Holidays.
Number of public holidays has been reduced from 21 to 11. Now public holidays include two main Muslim festivals of Id-ul-Fitr and Id-ul-Zuha fixed with reference to lunar calendar, Ashura in lunar month of Muharram and Id-e-Milad-un-Nabi, Dec. 25 (which is both Christmas and birthday of Quaid-e-Azam Mohammad Ali Jinnah), Independence Day and Pakistan Day, on Aug. 14 and Mar. 23 and Iqbal Day on Nov. 9. Government holidays are compulsory but there are various other religious holidays which may or may not be given by individual employers, e.g., during the month of Ramzan all government offices and most other offices work Ramzan hours which are from 8 A.M. to 2 P.M. These hours are also the official summer hours for government offices and the courts.